top of page
  • The Oolong Drunk

Milky Milky, Righhtttttt

It’s been a while since the last post and I think it’s time to turn things up a bit! I had a tiffany while lying in bed one night watching Breakfast at Tiffany’s and thought, “I write a blog called The Oolong Drunk and i’ve only reviewed puer. Damn,am I the only one who sees a problem with this?” Well the wait is over.

To start, I have too many oolongs to chose from but I recently ordered a Taiwanese Oolong that blew me completely away. For today’s review i’m going to explore What-Cha’s Taiwanese Milk Oolong.

Opening -

Today I'm reviewing ‘Taiwan Jin Xuan Milk Oolong’. When I first opened a package of this tea I was completely blown away by the strength of it’s thick cream odor. I weighed 6.5g for my vessel and used 170º-180ºf for brewing this. I would have photos to show you what my package looked like, but I opened my package and placed the contents inside of a mason jar…

Infusions 1-4

I didn’t do a rinse of this tea because i’m rinse-OCD when it comes to puer. When I first sipped it, I immediately noticed the taste of warm butter but after a few more infusions it started to taste like cream. It was such a strong taste of it that when my boyfriend walked in the room he even could smell it.

Like, out of boredom have you ever took cream shots while waiting for your food? As in taking the creamers and drinking them straight? Well no matter how many people think this is gross, I’ve been doing this since I was a little kid and its delicious! This tea reminded me of doing creamer shots while waiting for pancakes.

Infusions 5-12

In the beginning of the 5th steep the tea started to taste like strong sweet milk and also noticed sugar-snap peas. But this only lasted for three infusions before it started to mellow out all together. One thing stood out about this oolong is it’s temperature sensitivity. If you let the water get too hot it turns sour.

Conclusion -

All in all this was a great experience! I got 12 infusions and used 2 liters of water doing so but for an oolong I was very surprised at how long this tea went on for. One thing I didn’t like was how temperature sensitive it was. It didn’t taste very strong when I brewed this western style. Overall, I would only recommend drinking this tea gong-fu style to get the most out of it. I am definitely going to place another order of this when I run out.

Rating:

8.2/10

Drunk Level -

I was at the same level of tea drunk as Mary-Kate Olson was alcohol drunk in the mid 00’s

thumbnail.png

The Oolong Drunk Affiliate 

bottom of page